Frequently Asked Questions

What Happens When I Add Assisted Service Plan to an Existing Dedicated or Virtual Dedicated Server?

Last Updated: May 8, 2007 3:23 PM

When you upgrade to Assisted Service Plan, our server support team configures a new server for your use, and then decommissions your existing dedicated or virtual dedicated server seven days later. During this time, you can transfer content from your existing server to your new server. Extensions can be obtained by contacting Customer Support.

Bandwidth used during the transition period is applied to and reported on the new server. Bandwidth data is not available for viewing on your existing server. If you created an FTP backup folder on your existing server, it is not carried over to your new server and must be created again.

If you cancel Assisted Service Plan during the transition period, your existing server returns to an active status. If you cancel Assisted Service Plan after the transition period, you will keep the new server after our support team removes Assisted Service Plan.

During this transition period, your existing server remains operable and accessible but does not appear separately in your Account Manager.

To Access Your Existing Server's Hosting Manager

  1. Log in to your Account Manager.
  2. In the My Products section, select Dedicated/Virtual Dedicated Servers.
  3. Next to your Assisted Service Plan server, click Launch Manager.
  4. On your Hosting Manager home page, your existing server appears with a status of Pending Decommission. Click on its Host Name to launch the Hosting Manager.